Search Topics

NSBRI honors Space Shuttle Columbia astronauts
Feb 1, 2013: NSBRI marks the 10th anniversary of the tragic Space Shuttle Columbia disaster that resulted in the loss of seven brave astronauts, including Captain Laurel B. Clark, M.D., who served as a Mission Specialist on STS 107 - and was a member of NSBRIís User Panel. The Institute also pauses to honor the astronauts who perished in the Apollo 1 fire of 1967 as well as the astronauts who died in the Challenger STS 51-L disaster of 1986. On this day our thoughts and prayers are with the families and friends of these courageous astronauts who sacrificed all, to honorably serve our nationís space program.