Pioneer Award

The National Space Biomedical Research Institute Pioneer Award recognizes individuals whose efforts and accomplishments have blazed new trails on behalf of the Institute, its partnership with NASA and the space biomedical community at large. The award was established in 2009.


2015 - Jeffrey P. Sutton, M.D., Ph.D.

2014 - George W.S. Abbey

2013 Laurence R. Young, Sc.D.

2012 - U.S. Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison

2011 - Joseph V. Brady, Ph.D.

2010 - Bobby R. Alford, M.D.

2009 - Charles F. Sawin, Ph.D.